Frequently Asked Questions

Q1: What is required of the student prior to taking lessons?

If the student is between the ages of 15½ and 18, they will need the following:

· A Certificate of Completion/Enrollment of Driver's Education. Link here.

· Complete the California Driver's License or ID Card Application. Link here.

· Have a parent or guadian's signature on the application

· Schedule an appointment with the California DMV where you will need the following items to be completed:

1. Bring a form of identification and residency.​

2. Pay the $35 application fee.

3. Pass the vision exam that will be conducted at the DMV at the time of the appointment. If you regularly wear glasses, bring them with you.

4. The DMV will take a photo of the student at the time of the appointment. Don't worry, if the student doesn't like the photo taken at this time, it can be requested that another photo to be taken prior to passing the driving exam.

5. Pass the Knowledge Test (Written Test) based on the California Driver Handbook. A score of at least 80% is required to pass. Link to the online Driver Handbook here.

If the student is over the age of 18, they will need all of the previously listed requirements and items except for the parent/guardian signature and a Driver's Education Certificate of Completion is NOT required.

Q2: If a student is over the age of 18, do they still need a Driver's Permit?

Yes. A person over the age of 18 is still required to possess a valid Driver's Permit. However, unlike a minor, adult students are not required to take a Driver's Education Course. Nor do they require a parent/guardian signature on the student's application.

The student will need the following to obtain a Driver's Permit:

· Complete the California Driver's License or ID Card Application. Link here.

· Schedule an appointment with the California DMV where you will need the following items to be completed:

1. Bring a form of identification and residency.​

2. Pay the $35 application fee.

3. Pass the vision exam that will be conducted at the DMV at the time of the appointment. If you regularly wear glasses, bring them with you.

4. The DMV will take a photo of the student at the time of the appointment. Don't worry, if the student doesn't like the photo taken at this time, it can be requested that another photo to be taken prior to passing the driving exam.

5. Pass the Knowledge Test (Written Test) based on the California Driver Handbook. A score of at least 80% is required to pass. Link to the online Driver Handbook here.

Q3: Can Yoland's Driving School issue a Driver's Permit to a student?

No, Yoland's Driving School cannot issue a Driver's Permit.

 

The student must complete the forms and steps required by the DMV and have them submitted to the DMV. Yoland's Driving School can only start lessons with a student once the DMV has issued a valid Driver's Permit to the student.

Q4: What is the difference between the Written Test/Knowledge Test, Permit Test and Driving Test?

The Written Test, Knowledge Test and Permit Test are all the same test. It just depends on who is referrencing the test to obtain a Driver's Permit. The official name of the test designated by the DMV is the Written Test.

Written Test/Knowledge Test/Permit Test:

The sudent will be required to pass a Written Test at the DMV in order to complete the application for the Driver's Permit. The Written test consists of 46 questions, 38 of which must be answered correctly to pass the written exam. All of the questions on the Written Test are based on the Driver Handbook. Link here. Refer to Q1 for the full requirements to obtain a Driver's Permit.

Driving Test:

After the student has satisfied all of the requirements to be eligible for a Driving Test, the student can take a practicle behind the wheel test administered by the DMV to obtain a Class C Non-commercial Driver's License.

Q5: Once a student has a Driver's Permit, can they drive by themself?

No. A Driver's Permit is not a license to drive. There are certain restrictions to driving with a Driver's Permit. A Driver's Permit does not allow you to drive alone at any time, not even to a DMV field office to take a driving test.

 

If the student is under the age of 18:

The Driver's Permit is not valid until the student has taken at least one lesson with a driving school. Upon your first lesson, the driving instructor will sign your Driver's Permit. Only then is it legal to drive with persons other than a licensed driving instructor. A parent/guardian, driving instructor, or adult over the age of 21 with a valid Driver's License must be present in the front passenger seat.

If the student is over the age of 18:

The student has 12 months to complete all the required steps toward qualifying for a driver’s license once you have a permit. If after 12 months the student does not obtain a Driver's License, the student will be required to re-apply for a Driver's Permit. Even if you’re over the age of 18, you cannot drive alone with only a Driver’s Permit. Until you have your Driver's License, you must bring a parent, guardian, spouse, or other adult who is at least 18 years old and has a valid Driver's License with you when you drive. The Licensed person must sit close enough to control the vehicle, if necessary.

Q6: Who is required to take the Drive Test?

A drive test is required for the following:

· If the student has never been licensed in California or any other state or you hold a driver license (DL) from a foreign country

· The student has vision-related problem

· The student has limited term DL for specified physical and mental (P&M) conditions

· The student has a physical condition (except corrective lenses) for which DMV imposes a restriction or you have a restriction on your DL and request the restriction be removed

· The student has an out-of-state junior, provisional, or probationary DL

· The student has been licensed out-of-state but does not have the DL to surrender

Note: Drive tests for DL renewals or holders of out-of-state or U.S. territory DLs are normally waived, if the DL is presented. However, DMV may require a drive test at any time.

Q7: How long do I have to wait to take the Drive Test?

If the student is under the age of 18:

· Has had a Driver's Permit for at least 6 months.

· Has at least 6 hours of professional driving training through an accredited driving school

· Has completed at least 50 hours of practice, 10 of which are night driving.

If the student is over the age of 18, they are eligible to take the test at any time.